The Solar System

Solar System, Sun, Mercury, Venus, Earth

The solar system includes the sun, the closest star to us, and the planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, in addition to numerous comets, asteroids, meteoroids, and the interplanetary medium. The nine planets, together with their satellites, revolve round the sun in certain orbits.

It’s thought that the sun, the center-piece of the solar system, has been born five billion years back, emitting light and heat non-stop, and it’s expected to do this for another five billion years. The sun is the richest repository of electromagnetic energy, in the form of light and heat. The sun contains 99.85 percent of all of the matter in the solar system. The planets, which were condensed from the same disk of material that formed the sun, comprise just 0.135 percent of the mass of the solar system.

All of them have compact, rugged surfaces such as the Earth’s. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are known as the Jovian (Jupiter-like) planets due to their colossal sizes.

By quantity, nearly all of the solar system seems to be an empty void. But, this”vacuum of space” encircles the interplanetary medium containing a variety of kinds of energy, dust, and gas. The stream of gas and charged particles known as plasma, mostly protons and electrons, is called the solar wind. Its rate is about 250 miles (400 km ) per second in the neighborhood of the planet’s orbit.

The entire solar system, along with the stars visible on a clear night, orbits the center of our home galaxy known as the Milky Way, which is a spiral disk of 200 billion stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *